Call for Congressional Debate on Syria

Note that Maine’s Chellie Pingree and Michael Michaud are among those calling for debate.
Please let them know that you support their call.
Mike Michaud:

Bangor, Maine
6 State Street, Suite 101
Bangor, ME 04401
Phone: (207) 942-6935
Fax: (207) 942-5907
Hours: M-F 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. EST    


We can be reached in our Portland Office at 207-774-5019. Outside the Greater Portland area, you can also call us toll free at 1-888-862-6500 or email us by clicking here.

2 Portland Fish Pier, Suite 304
Portland, ME 04101

…or at our Waterville Office at (207) 873-5713
108 Main Street
Waterville, ME 04901

..or at our Washington, DC Office at (202) 225-6116

1318 Longworth HOB

Washington, DC 20515

– See more at:

By my count, at least 162 Members of the House of Representatives, including 64 Democrats, have done at least one of the following things in the last few days: 1) signed a letter initiated by California Democrat Barbara Lee saying that there must be Congressional debate and vote before war with Syria; 2) signed a letter initiated by Virginia Republican Scott Rigell saying that there must be Congressional debate and vote before war with Syria; 3) issued a statement calling for a Congressional debate and vote before war with Syria. I don’t claim that this count is exhaustive. If you know of other examples, please share them in the comments.

By my count, at least 64 Democrats in the House have done at least one of these three things. Add this to the 98 Republicans who signed the Rigell letter and you get 162.  

These are the 54 Democratic signers of the Lee letter, according to Lee’s office:

Barbara Lee, Mike Honda, Lois Capps, Zoe Lofgren,  John Lewis, Jackie Speier, Raúl Grijalva, Robin Kelly, Beto O’Rourke, Michael H. Michaud, Mark Pocan, Peter A. DeFazio, Peter Welch, Chellie Pingree, Nydia M. Velázquez, Sam Farr, Stephen F. Lynch, Lloyd Doggett, Janice Hahn, Jared Huffman, Tulsi Gabbard, Emanuel Cleaver, Rush Holt, Jim McDermott, Sheila Jackson Lee, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Suzanne Bonamici, José E. Serrano, George Miller, Donna F. Edwards, Robert C. “Bobby” Scott, Steve Cohen, Marcy Kaptur, Danny K. Davis,  Alcee L. Hastings, James P. McGovern, Judy Chu, Marcia L. Fudge, Alan S. Lowenthal, Charles B. Rangel, Bobby L. Rush, Carolyn B. Maloney, Janice Schakowsky, Donna M. Christensen, David Loebsack, Richard M. Nolan, Henry A. Waxman, Diana DeGette, Yvette D. Clarke, Keith Ellison, Niki Tsongas, Eleanor Holmes Norton, John A. Yarmuth, Julia Brownley.

This entry was posted in HCCN. Bookmark the permalink.